Pecan Shortbread Cookies

pecan shortbread - 1

My daughter loves shortbread. My daughter currently lives in Ithaca, NY (a lovely place; you should visit), toiling away as a grad student. Sunday is her birthday. As the dutiful mom/chef that I am, I had to send her some cookies for her birthday. Shortbread coming up!

You can find the recipe on Epicurious.com. It’s originally from Bon Appetit Magazine.

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/pecan-shortbread-cookies-106027

Only ingredient adjustment was to reduce the baking soda slightly for my 5400 ft. altitude. There’s only 1/8 teaspoon in the original, so it probably doesn’t matter much.

I did find I had to bake them longer than the recipe said to get them lightly browned and set. Original says 20 minutes. I’d say 25.

They are delicious! Buttery and light. If you live in a humid climate, eat them quickly because they will get flabby. Still taste great but lose that crisp snap.

They did look a little worse for wear after shipping however. She still ate them. 😉

broken cookies - 1

Author: worldplatterblog

I blog about food, travel, and anything else tangentially related to food that piques my interest. I have a degree in Culinary Arts and in Operations Research (it's math). That means I'm pretty analytical and love science, but I also love art. Food is a strange place where science intersects art in continually changing ways. I love writing about all of it.

Leave a Reply

