Removing the Skin from Salmon Filet

A while back, a reader asked about skinning salmon (thanks Linda!). I explained the process in the comments, but I wanted to find a video of it. It’s hard to describe the process – here, a (moving) picture is worth a thousand words. Unfortunately, it’s not as simple to skin a piece of filet as it is to skin a whole side. Can be done and in the following video, she demonstrates both removing the skin from a whole side and a piece of filet. This technique works for any type of fish; I used it last night to skin a whole side of mahi-mahi (a fish where the skin is definitely inedible).

Author: worldplatterblog

I blog about food, travel, and anything else tangentially related to food that piques my interest. I have a degree in Culinary Arts and in Operations Research (it's math). That means I'm pretty analytical and love science, but I also love art. Food is a strange place where science intersects art in continually changing ways. I love writing about all of it.

Leave a Reply

